Anyone who’s attempted to learn about insurance laws will notice something right off the bat. Such laws are far more confusing than they need to be. In this short article, we’ll answer three of the most frequently asked questions about Ohio’s insurance laws:
If after reading you still have questions about these laws and how they pertain to your claim, call the NRS Injury Law office today at 855.977.6670.
The ‘Minimum Coverage’ identification refers to motor vehicle insurance. It’s also sometimes referred to as ‘Mandatory Insurance.’ Quoting Ohio’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles:
“It is law in Ohio that you must have insurance to drive any motor vehicle. A vehicle owner may not allow anyone else to drive their motor vehicle without insurance. Minimum required for insurance coverage: $25,000 for injury/death of one person. $50,000 for injury/death of two or more people. $25,000 for property damage in an accident.”
Ohio residents can add coverage options to their policy and choose additional insurance options, but the Minimum Coverage regulations cited above are what all drivers must have.
The concept of ‘fault’ merely establishes who is at fault in an auto accident and who is not. Ohio is a “fault” state, meaning the driver deemed liable for an accident uses their insurance coverage to pay for others’ damages. That is why all drivers in Ohio must be covered by a Minimum Coverage insurance policy. In the event of an accident, the driver who is determined at fault for that accident will use their insurance to pay for the damages that other parties suffered.
Fault is an important aspect of any car accident because determining who is at fault and the degree of fault involved makes a big difference in who’s insurance company will have to foot the bill and for how much one of the parties may be held liable. It’s also worth mentioning that a judge can determine several parties to share fault in a single car accident, adding a layer of complexity. That’s why it’s important to have professional legal representation when litigating the details of a car accident.
Ohio insurance companies have 46 days to settle a claim after it is filed, and it usually takes them the full 46 days to do this, especially for personal injury claims. Why? Mostly because multiple parties are involved, including the individual’s doctor, the health insurance company, the legal representatives, the car insurance company, settlement administration, etc.
Having the help of experienced and knowledgeable professionals makes all the difference in seeking justice for an automobile accident, negligence, medical malpractice, worker’s compensation, personal injury, or Social Security disability claims. To ensure you get the compensation you deserve, call NRS Injury Law today at 855.977.6670.
 BMV. “Mandatory Insurance.” Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 2022. bmv.ohio.gov