Understanding your rights as they pertain to an Ohio Workers’ Compensation claim is critical in the success of any case. Ohio law states that a claim must be filed within one year (Updated per recent General Assembly Substitute House Bill 27) of the accident or disability, or within 6 months of a doctor’s diagnosis. Understanding what does and does not constitute a Workers’ Compensation claim is the first step!
Physical injuries can occur in a variety of scenarios - from a single event or from repeated wear and tear on our bodies. Exertion related injuries that strain or injure are as common as falls and accidents on machinery, equipment or vehicles.
Many Workers’ Compensation cases are very straight forward, while some have unique circumstances. In any event, having a TOP Ohio Workers’ Compensation attorneys is essential.
This is most commonly thought to effect individuals in fields such as coal mining, emergency response and additional exposure-based jobs. Very recently (in Ohio), the Michael J. Palumbo Act was named for the firefighter who succumbed to an aggressive form of cancer often associated with firefighting.
Long term illness or disease can have a profound impact on your life and may require extensive medical care and limit or completely restrict the ability to work. Properly filing and subsequently winning a case based illness or disease is complex and requires professional support and guidance. (General Assembly passed Substitute House Bill 27 2 year statute of limitations)
In some instances, a psychiatric/mental diagnosis may be grounds for a Workers’ Compensation claim. PTSD is the most commonly thought of occurrence. Individuals with PTSD suffer from severe stress following an traumatic event or experience and often manifests in both mental and physical limitations.
If you were injured at work, have a work related illness or believe that your rights have been violated as an employee as it pertains to your safety, contact Nager, Romaine & Schneiberg Co., L.P.A. We will fight to obtain the benefits you or your loved one is entitled to under Ohio Law.